SVHS Career and Technical Center Student Recognitions

Albert Yanni Scholarship

The Albert Yanni Scholarship provides provides high quality career and technical education students (CTE) an opportunity to pursue advanced education and/or training related to their career aspirations.   Scholarships of $2,000 each will be awarded to students selected by a committee of West Virginia Department of Education personnel.  Applications selected must present proof that they have maintained their eligibility requirements before awards are presented.

Recent SVHS Albert Yanni Scholars

2011 – Kate Nash (Health Occupations)

2012 – Paxton O’Bryan (Health Occupations)

2012 – Alexis Parsons (JROTC)

2015 – Carlie McCoy (JROTC)

2016 – Joshua Blatt (Project Lead the Way) and Lakin Bailey (Therapeutic Services)

2017 – Syerra Wilson (JROTC) and Makenzie Phelps (Careers in Education)

2018 – Tre Maynard

Governor’s Workforce Credential

Graduating seniors must successfully meet the following criteria:

  1. Obtain a grade of “B” or better in the four required state-approved CTE Program of Study courses
  2. Accomplish a minimum score of 95% on the CTE portfolio
  3. Attain a verified school attendance rate of 95% or higher during the senior year
  4. Score at an elite level of 70 or higher on the industry-recognized audit
  5. Earn an industry certification that coincides with a state-approved CTE Program of Study in accordance with the West Virginia Board of Education Policy 2520.13
  6. Pass a minimum of two documented drug screenings
Past SVHS Recipients
2018 Shannon Coleman (Careers in Education)
Sunnie Hensley (ProStart)
Diana Kim (PTLW)
Elizabeth Perry (Careers in Education)
Stevee Williams (Early Childhood Education/Careers in Education)